Posted by: passagetoitaly | March 4, 2010

The Homestretch?


Filename: j0423019.jpgAlthough my journey has thus far not been too long (knock on wood!), I am finally nearing the end of the documents that I have had to collect for my Italian Citizenship application. Tonight, I downloaded the required paper that must be submitted in order to receive an appointment. The consulate contacts you when it has been received. Hopefully they do not call me on a day that I am at work, or I will be so mad!

Here is a list of the documents I have collected so far:

From Italy:
1. great great grandfather’s birth certificate
2. great great grandmother’s birth certificate
3. great great grandparents’ marriage certificate
4. great great grandfather’s death certificate

From the US:
5. great grandfather’s birth certificate
6. great grandparents’ marriage certificate
7. grandmother’s death certificate
8. father’s birth certificate
9. mother’s birth certificate
10. my birth certificate

Items still needed:
1. great great grandmother’s death certificate
2. great grandparents’ death certificate (though I may never be able to receive them)
3. grandfather’s birth certificate
4. grandfather’s death certificate
5. grandparents’ marriage certificate
6. grandmother’s birth certificate

Some documents need to have letters of exemplification, all need to have a signature of the county clerk, and have apostilles. All also need to be translated. Still so much to do, yet little time to do it.

C’est la vie.

Responses

  1. One other important document you would need is your great great grandfather’s US Naturalization papers. Not sure if you have them. I am assume with the trail you listed that is who you are going through. That is an important document because if he became a US citizen prior to the birth of the child you wouldn’t qualify. The one question I am wondering is I am using my grandfather for mine and I have his birth marriage and death, do I need my grandmother’s death being I am not going through her? I am getting mixed answers on that.

    Jim

    • Hi Jim!

      Thank you for stopping by my site. I did in fact have them searched for in the local courts and through both of the government agencies, the NCIS, and that other oh-so-important one. (The name evades me at the moment) Nothing has thus far been found, and so it is being assumed that he never did naturalize. You can read about these searches under ‘Citizenship Update‘, and ‘Another Piece to the Puzzle‘. This would be hard to prove to the Italian consulate. However, by acquiring documents from each agency that a search was conducted, resulting in no documents found, as per the requirements by the consulate, it should clear this up. This can cause a problem, at some consulates, being that record keeping was not as efficient as it is today. The more you deal with the consulates in each city, or read about them, the more you find that they are not all run the same. Some are more accepting of such situations than others.

      To answer your question, from what I’ve read, most consulates do in fact require you to obtain both sides, even if it’s not the line you are applying through. Depending on the strictness of the consulate, if you are unable to receive a more recently date document due to restrictions imposed upon them by the town/city, they may be willing to overlook it. But, like I said before, it all depends on the consulate. If you visit the site of the consulate to which you will be applying, it should give you a full list of the documents you are required to show during the appointment. As an example, you can see the list of documents required by my consulate, located in Newark, New Jersey.

      If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to ask me and I’ll give you the best possible answer and/or direct you to a more knowledgeable person. I also recommend you visiting the Italian Citizenship Forum. The link is located in the side bar of this blog under Dual Italian Citizenship. There is also the ExpatForum.com.

      Hope this has helped you, and good luck with your citizenship!


Leave a Reply

Categories

